Our Commissioners

Since its creation in 1926, the Port of Harlingen Commission has served as the Port’s governing body. Through this community leadership, the Port is now a robust, multimodal port providing economical transportation to markets as close as Corpus Christi and as far as the Great Lakes. It is the second largest in Cameron County, with an overall cargo tonnage of 2 million annually.

However, the Port’s values remain just as they did almost a century ago; serving the citizens of the Rio Grande Valley region by creating economic opportunity, stewarding environment responsibly, partnering¬† with communities and entities, and holding ourselves accountable and transparent.

All authority of the Port of Harlingen is vested with the Board by the state of Texas in accordance with the Texas Water Code, chapter 62. Five Commissioners, elected at-large by district voters, serve four year terms, governing the Port, leading all inter-governmental functions, and overseeing the Executive Director. 

Commission Meetings

Port Commissioners’ meetings are normally held at 12 p.m. on the first and third Thursday of each month at The Port of Harlingen Office, 24633 E. Port Rd. Harlingen, TX 78550.¬†Because meeting times can change, please visit this page for the most up-to-date information. General Public is welcome.

Meeting Schedule


Date Type Location Documents
January 2023
Jan. 5 Regular Port Agenda
Jan. 19 Regular Port Agenda
February 2023
Feb. 2 Regular Port Agenda
Feb. 16 Regular Port Agenda
March 2023
Mar. 2 Regular Port Agenda
Mar. 16 Regular Port Agenda


Port of Harlingen Commissioners

Bryan Duffy

Board Commissioner since 2011

Neil Haman

Board Commissioner from 2007 to 2011. Re-elected in 2019.

Alan Johnson, Chair

Board Commissioner since 1988.

Ryan Newman

Board Commissioner since 2021.

Chris Villarreal

Board Commissioner since 2021.