The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) Commission has appointed Walker Smith, Port Director of The Port of Harlingen Authority, as a member to Port Authority Advisory Committee (PAAC), during their regular commission meeting Thursday, Feb. 23.  

The PAAC is a nine-member committee that provides a forum for the exchange of information between the Commission, TxDOT, and committee members representing the port industry in Texas. The PAAC’s advice and recommendations provide the Commission and TxDOT with a broad perspective regarding ports and transportation-related matters to be considered in formulating department policies concerning the Texas maritime system.  

Smith, who previously served on the PAAC from 2019-2022, is one of three lower coast representatives. His current term is set to expire in February 2026.  

In addition to his appointment to the PAAC, Smith is also the president of the Gulf Ports Association; an executive committee member of the Texas Ports Association; committee member of the South Texas Area Maritime Security committee; an active member in the Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association, Inland Rivers Port and Terminals and the American Association of Port Authorities. 

For more information about the Port Authority Advisory Committee, go to: