Our Board of Commissioners

Since its creation in 1926, the Port of Harlingen Board of Commissioners has served as the Port’s governing body. Through this community leadership, the Port is now a robust, multimodal port providing economical transportation to markets as close as Corpus Christi and as far as the Great Lakes. It is the second largest in Cameron County, with an overall cargo tonnage of 2 million annually.

However, the Port’s values remain just as they did almost a century ago; serving the citizens of Cameron and Willacy Counties by creating economic opportunity, stewarding environment responsibly, partnering  with communities and entities, and holding ourselves accountable and transparent.

All authority of the Port of Harlingen is vested with the Board by the state of Texas in accordance with the Texas Water Code, chapter 62. Three Commissioners, elected at-large by district voters, serve six year terms, governing the Port, leading all inter-governmental functions, and overseeing the Executive Director. 

Commission Meetings

Port Board of Commissioners meetings are normally held at 12 p.m. on the first and third Thursday of each month at The Port of Harlingen Office, 24633 E. Port Rd. Harlingen, TX 78550. Because meeting times can change, please visit this page for the most up-to-date information. General Public is welcome.

Meeting Schedule


Date Type Location Documents
Jan. 2021
Jan. 7 Regular Port Agenda
Jan. 21 Regular Port Agenda
Feb. 2021
Feb. 4 Regular Port Agenda
Feb. 25 Reschuled Port Agenda
March 2021
March 4 Regular Port Agenda
March 18 Regular Port Agenda
April 2021
April 1 Regular Port Agenda
April 15 Regular Port Agenda


Contact a Commissioner

You can contact The Port Board of Commissioners by calling The Port Administrative Office at (956) 423-0283, or submitting your questions, comments or concerns online.

12 + 9 =

Port of Harlingen Board of Commissioners

Bryan Duffy

Board Commissioner since 2011, term ends 2023

Neil Haman

Board Commissioner from 2007 to 2011. Re-elected in 2019, current term ends in 2025.

Alan Johnson

Board Commissioner since 1991, term ends 2021